About UAE
The United Arab Emirates is the constitutional federation of SEVEN EMIRATES: Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm Al-Quwain, Ras Al Khaimah, and Al Fujairah. It stretched over 1448 km from the west coast of Persian Gulf and Gulf of Oman, where water and land overlap, to the Arabian Peninsula.
Rich of pearls which have been sustaining the UAE population for centuries, the coastline is studded with islands, coral reefs and ridges. Nearly 200 islands fall under the UAE territory on Persian Gulf, including Abu Dhabi Island, capital of United Arab Emirates, Das Island which is rich in Oil, Delma Island which is rich in pearls, Umm Al Nar Island, Saadyat Island, Hamra Island near Ras Al Khaimah, Abu Moosa Island, Greater Tunb Island, Lesser Tunb Island, and other islands which have left their mark on UAE.
According to recent discoveries, human settlement in UAE dates back to several thousand years and probably, to the Stone Age (5500 B.C. or 7500 B.C.), where the weather was humid with frequent rainfall.

Climate
This is a destination with almost year-round sunshine, little rainfall and near perfect winter temperatures.
Abu Dhabi has a sub-tropical, arid climate. Sunny blue skies and high temperatures can be expected most of the year. Rainfall is sporadic, falling mainly in winter (November to March) and averaging 12cms per year in most of the emirate. Rain is more common in the ‘Oasis City' of Al Ain, the emirate’s second largest city, due to its proximity to the Hajar mountains.
Temperatures range from a low of around 13°C (50°F) on a winter’s night, to a high of around 42°C (118°F) on a summer’s day. The cooler months, November to April, are the most pleasant time to visit, when temperatures are around 24°C (75°F) during the day and 13°C (56°F) at night.
Local time
The UAE is four hours ahead of UTC (Co-ordinated Universal Time – formerly known as GMT) and there is no daylight saving. Hence, when it is 12.00 midday in Abu Dhabi, it is 3am in New York, 8am in London, 10am in Johannesburg, 1.30pm in New Delhi, and 6pm in Sydney (not allowing for any summer time saving in those countries).
Population
Abu Dhabi is the largest and most populated of the seven emirates that make up the United Arab Emirates, with over 80% of its landmass. The emirate’s population, now over 1.6 million, is growing at an average annual rate of 4.7%. Across the UAE, Emirati citizens make up nearly 20% of the total population; the other 80% are expatriates from Asia, Africa, Australia, Europe and North America.
Language
Arabic is the official language, although English is widely spoken and most road and shop signs and restaurant menus are in both languages. The further out of town you go, the more Arabic you will find, both written and spoken.
There are three types of spoken Arabic in contemporary Abu Dhabi. The oldest form of the language is known as Classical Arabic (think Shakesperean English), which is not commonly spoken by Arabs today, at least not in their everyday conversations. The revelation of Quran in Classical Arabic explains for the most part why the language has been preserved down the centuries; it is also the language of royal and princely courts, and the educated elite throughout Islamic history.
Literary Arabic or Modern Standard Arabic (MSA), on the other hand, is used in formal or business settings such as in the broadcast media or in governmental proceedings. University or formal courses in Arabic language are oriented towards this type of spoken Arabic. The third type is Colloquial Arabic, which combines some of the features of both Classical and Modern Arabic, but assumes regional nuances and is used by Arabs in everyday conversations. Colloquial variations explain the different pronunciations or spelling for the same alphabet in Arabic. For example the alphabet “qaaf” is pronounced “g” in Bedouin dialects, and then becomes ‘k’ in places like rural Palestine. However in most Gulf countries the same alphabet could be pronounced or spelt as “j” or “g”.
Abu Dhabi locals speak Gulf Arabic, which is the native spoken language of Arab nationals in countries such as Bahrain, Kuwait, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Southern Iraq, UAE and to a lesser extent, Oman.
Religion
Islam is the official religion of the UAE, and is widely practiced. The basis of Islam is the belief that there is only one God and that Prophet Mohammed (peace be upon him) is his messenger. The Islamic holy day is Friday. Muslim is required to pray (facing Mecca) five times a day. The times vary according to the position of the sun, when the modern-day call-to-prayer is transmitted through loudspeakers on mosque minarets.
The UAE Constitution provides for freedom of religion in accordance with established customs. Abu Dhabi is tolerant of other religions with people being free to practice their religious beliefs, so long as they do not interfere with Islam.